English Community

Eastern Wind Alliance becomes Eastern Energy Alliance

Îles de la Madeleine

In addition to expanding its territory, the Eastern Wind Alliance becomes a limited partnership called the Eastern Energy Alliance.

The separate and independent entity now includes 16 regional county municipalities from Montmagny to the Magdalen Islands, as well as the Maliseet First Nation in the Lower St. Lawrence region.

In total, more than 209 communities and territories are involved in this municipal and aboriginal partnership, » the release said.

Developers and private partners will no longer have to take turns applying to the Régies intermunicipales de l’énergie du Bas-Saint-Laurent and de la Gaspésie et des Îles, and then to the MRCs of l’Islet and Montmagny, since all the authorities are now under one roof.

With its change in structure, the Eastern Energy Alliance can now also turn to initiatives involving solar, energy storage and small hydroelectric power plants.

The company invests 50% of the money required for the projects and redistributes the profits to the partner communities in an equitable manner.

Consultez nos archives

Écoutez CFIM sur votre téléphone intelligent avec l'application ARCQ


Ligne éditoriale CFIM

Laisser un commentaire